Jaillet makes 32 saves as Barons shut out Sherwood Park 2-0 for 13th straight

SHERWOOD PARK, AB (October 11, 2013) — Tanner Jaillet (Red Deer, AB) made 32 saves for his second shutout of the season, while Austin Yadlowski (Edmonton, AB) and Colten Meaver (Edmonton, AB) cued the MOB offence, as the Fort McMurray Oil Barons (13-0) continued their season-opening winning streak with a 2-0 victory over the Sherwood Park Crusaders (8-5) on Friday night.

The Barons were outshot 32-27 in the game, including a 10-5 Crusader advantage in the third and a 9-3 advantage early in the first period, but Jaillet made several close-range saves to prevent the Crusaders from converting.

An evenly played first period ended with a scoreless tie and a 12-11 McMurray shot advantage. In the second, however, two concurrent Crusader penalties, one to new acquisition Anthony Kapelke for interference, and a second to Braeden Farge for high sticking, gave the Barons a full two-minute 5-on-3.

More than halfway through, the Barons hadn't registered a shot on goal on the 2-man advantage, until Kevin Miller (Stony Plain, AB) fed a pass to Yadlowski at the top of the right-wing circle, whose one-time slapshot beat Nixon for the eventual game-winning goal.

The Crusaders came close to tying it in the 3rd, doubling the MOB in shots. Yet the only puck to find the back off the net came off of Meaver's wrist shot from the right wing on the rush, which rang the post being Nixon and bounced over the goal line for a 2-0 lead.

Despite a flurry of chances from the Crusaders late in the third with an extra attacker, and a late power-play, the MOB held on for their 13th straight win, setting another franchise record for wins to start a season.

The team continues its latest three-game road trip tomorrow night in Olds against the Grizzlys, a team against whom the MOB is already 1-0 on the year.

Game time is 7:30 with pre-game coverage starting at 7:15 on Country 93.3.

Country 93.3 3 stars:
1. Tanner Jaillet (32 save shutout)
2. Austin Yadlowski (1 game-winning goal)
3. Colten Meaver (1 goal)